Did you know #9

Did you know there are around 196 countries in the world as of 2019 and the word’s “country” and “nation” are terms for the word “sovereign state”. A sovereign state is a piece of land that has its own borders, independent government and land. Nearly all these countries are part of the U.N.(United Nations) with only 2 being U.N. observing states. The UN is an intergovernmental organization charged with keeping the peace, security and overall friendly communication between the countries in order to avoid conflict. There are a few non-U.N. states that aren’t fully recognized/apart of the UN, but they do have the recognition of at least one UN member. There are a total of 6 non-U.N. states: Taiwan, Western Sahara, Kosovo, South Ossetia, Abkhazia and Northern Cyprus. Non-U.N. states are countries they just aren’t fully recognized or apart of the U.N. making them different from Micronations that aren’t recognized by any sovereign states. (Learn More)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s